Metropolitan College of New York Military Friendly School
Request Information Apply Online Free

 
office of student services

News & Events

Student Services Workshops

Taking Notes / Reading a Textbook - Effective methods of taking lecture notes, how to know what is important to write down, and the best way to study from your notes. Strategies for reading efficiently and retaining information. Focus on different methods for different types of material.

  • Wednesday, May 29, 3:00 - 3:30
    Presented by Seeta Ramprasad
  • Wednesday, June 5, 12:30 - 1:00
    Presented by Seeta Ramprasad
  • Saturday, June 1, 12:30 - 1:00
    Presented by Lisa Mulligan

Preparing for Finals / Test Taking Strategies - Setting up a study schedule, how finals differ from other tests, and relieving stress. Examination of different testing styles and how to prepare for each.

  • Wednesday, June 5, 12:30 - 1:00
    Presented by Seeta Ramprasad
  • Monday, June 10, 3:00 - 3:30
    Presented by Seeta Ramprasad
  • Saturday, June 15, 12:30 - 1:00
    Presented by Todd Pettiford

Learning Styles - Taking an inventory to determine students' preferred learning styles. Defining learning styles and outlining their implications.

  • Wednesday, June 12, 12:30 - 1:00
    Presented by Kare'l Lokeni
  • Monday, June 17, 3:00 - 3:30
    Presented by Kare'l Lokeni

Writing Your Constructive Action: Dos & Don'ts - What teachers are looking for and examples of a well-constructed final product.

  • Saturday 12:30 - 1:00 June 22
    Presented by Todd Pettiford

Understanding, Embracing, and Applying Technology - Practical technological resources to assist students, both MCNY-specific and otherwise. Focus on research tools and methods.

  • Wednesday, June 26, 12:30 - 1:00
    Presented by Kare'l Lokeni
  • Monday, July 1, 3:00 - 3:30
    Presented by Kare'l Lokeni

Leadership Development - Strengths assessment, styles of leadership and examination of "being a leader" including delegation, motivation, and following.

  • Monday, July 8, 3:00 - 3:30
    Presented by Michael Molina
  • Wednesday, July 10, 12:30 - 1:00
    Presented by Michael Molina
  • Saturday, July 27, 12:30 - 1:00
    Presented by Todd Pettiford

Stress Relief - Stress relief techniques, short guided meditations, and techniques for clearing the mind and focusing at the tasks at hand.

  • Monday, July 15, 3:00 - 3:30
    Presented by Samara Schindler
  • Wednesday, July 17, 12:30 - 1:00
    Presented by Samara Schindler
  • Saturday, August 3, 12:30 - 1:00
    Presented by Todd Pettiford

Please see your advisor today or email if you have any questions.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

       Google Plush  RSS
Mailing Address MCNY (431 Canal Street New York, NY 10013 · 529 Courtlandt Avenue Bronx, New York 10451)
Phone Number  (800) 33 THINK | 212 343 1234